Dolla Dolla Bill Update

All righty. About a month ago I posted this, and I’m here to tell you that I didn’t make it. BUT! Let me expound.

I didn’t end up in the green, but I still consider the experiment a success because of what I learned:

1. Granted, I could’ve budgeted more than $400, but it was easy for me to just settle on $100 per week. Now I ended up in the red, but I was far less in the red than I usually am simply from trying and being more mindful of my habits. I also established some spending and shopping patterns that I plan to keep implementing (e.g. buying produce only at a certain reasonable farmer’s market, topping off my gas tank once a week to make it easier to plan budget-wise, not grabbing random couple-dollar items at the store if I’m in a rush). 

2. I learned a little bit more about meal planning (which is hardly a large expenditure of effort or time, so don’t shrug this off just yet). It took maybe a half hour a week, if that, and I discovered lots of delicious recipes like this (the dressing!!!) and this.

3. Plain and simple, if I don’t like what I make myself at home, I will feel bummed at work during lunch hour and drive myself to the nearest Chick-fil-a. It was key for me to make delicious food that I enjoyed so I wouldn’t feel sad and deprived (sounds like dieting, doesn’t it?).

4. I don’t NEED snacks and treats like I think I do. (Sigh.) 

5. I spent more on gas than I thought I did, which is unfortunate but a fact of life I suppose. I do try to compound errands, make sure I do everything I need to do in whatever part of town I’m in, etc., but it is what it is.

Anyway, overall it was a learning experience, which I couldn’t ask for more, could I? I’m implementing habits and lessons this month, so we’ll see.

(Those in Greenville, S.C., I know I’ve said this before, but I can’t recommend enough the Rutherford Road farmer’s market for their insanely reasonable produce.)

Leave a Reply

