My Favorite Nat

The older I get, the more I realize the incredible amount of inspiration I get from my own family. I’ve written before about my father, mother and older sister. And today is my younger sister’s birthday, so here is my greeting card to her.

To my favorite Nat,

You were born at a good time, even if you didn’t realize it then. Mom had lost a baby, and though I was very young, I was still old enough to sense the sadness that I imagine only comes from a miscarriage. And then you came to us, and we were all so glad.

For a family that speaks in two volumes, loud and louder, you seemed like the “quiet one.” But I suppose that’s not a fair label when you fall in line after your two sometimes-psycho older sisters. Now, I think you’re one of the funniest people I know. I admire your sensibility when it comes to conversation.

Typically, the oldest kid is a trailblazer of sorts, which Leah certainly was (thanks, by the way), but you are too, trying things and attempting feats no one in your family has. I think especially of when you wanted to be a lifeguard for the Town of Falmouth. You attended trials, diving to the bottom of a pool’s deep end to rescue a 200-pound (attractive) male. (If you don’t know my sister, she is approximately 2 feet tall and weighs 48 pounds.) And you did it; you became a lifeguard.

For someone like me, who tends to see the negative or jump to the worst conclusion, you are the perfect antidote. Thank you for teaching me to think and speak about the best of people, to give others the benefit of the doubt and to value fairness. I admire your efforts to be nice to everyone, no matter who they are or what they believe.

I’m thankful for your insight and advice, your sense of self and your grip on life (are you only 23?).

I love you, my favorite Nat.

P.S. I think you’re very glamorous and beautiful and also a great dancer.

P.S.S. Thanks for helping me see the light when it comes to cats.

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Nat

Leave a Reply

